Greetings and Welcome to my first Blog, The Catholic Word. My name is Paul Tanner. I reside in Wilmington Delaware, where I facilitate the Joy Fellowship. This is a interactive Bible Study at Saint Patrick’s here in Wilmington. I have decided to form an online Blog, to share my views on my faith and to share my Bible Studies with those that would like to read them. Please feel free to comment on anything I write, I enjoy positive feedback.

My next Bible Study is tomorrow, 8-7-13, and it is on the tragedy of the twelve spies.

Here is some of the Study I will hand out:

The people of Israel have left Mount Sinai, where they received the ten commandments. After some further travels, they camp in the desert of Paran. The Lord tells Moses to send some spies to explore the land of Canaan, which the Lord was giving to Israel. Moses sent one representative from each of the twelve tribes, including Caleb (tribe of Judah) and Hoshea/Joshua (tribe of Ephraim). Moses gives them explicit directives on what they are to find out: numbers and strength of the current inhabitants, towns, fertility of the soil, types of plants and produce. After 40 days, the spies return to give their report.

As you can see, I use a “narrative” approach.  I enjoy getting positive feedback, as well as discussing the story online.

